girls trip

I’m off this weekend down the Cape on are annual ‘girl’s trip’.  Every year, a few of my local high school friends and I make a point to go away together for a few days.  In our mid-20s, we used to make it a bit more of an extravagant affair (Houston, TX; San Fran, CA) but as the years progressed and we’ve all experienced changes (marital, financial and one of us has their first little bambino on the way this year..) we have toned it down a bit and have made it more of a local affair (New Hampshire; Cape Cod, etc).  It doesn’t really matter where we go, the point is to just spend some quality time together and catch up on where each of our lives have taken us.

Thinking about this upcoming trip got me reflecting a bit about our trip last year, and how life has changed since then.   I’ve bounced between a few different dreams over the years, and having just finished a long-distance hike, I was at a bit of a crossroads in my life.  Although I knew the constant factors in life that have always been important to me and the kind of future I was hoping to have (incorporating my love of the outdoors and living a simpler, more pared down life with a future that was sustainable- ie I couldn’t expect to live out of my backpack forever, as much as I might want to), I was still pretty clueless about how to get there.  On the ride home from our trip to Crotched Mtn last year, I have a vague memory of a conversation I had with my friend Betsy.  I remember mentioning to her that I would love to someday live somewhere like that area and raise some animals on my little patch of land.

So here we are nearly a year later, and I have in fact purchased a home in that general area and am working towards make my dreams a reality.  Slowly but surely of course!  But I feel that even little steps towards achieving your goals are all steps in the right direction nonetheless.  Myself from one year ago would never have thought this possible.  In fact, I still have to pinch myself every now and then just to be sure this has actually happened.  It’s amazing the difference a year can make…

Leave a Reply

